>Strands of Fate: The Short Review

>

I love. Love, love, LOVE a good universal role-playing system. Key words: good, universal.

So far, I’ve encountered about three, one of which made no claims (officially) toward being universal.

The first was Mutants and Masterminds. 


The second, Risus. 


The third: well, that’s what we’re here to talk about right now.

There are other universal systems, of course, but I tend to use the following rule of thumb; if I can’t grok roughly how a system functions in about 10 minutes in the Friendly Local Game Shop, I’m probably not going to want to explain it to my friends (I’m looking at you, GURPS).

Strands of Fate is an independently produced, self published RPG using the Fate system – the same system that Icons is loosely rooted in. And it’s pretty remarkable, all told. As an added bonus, the creator is running a promotion right now; purchase the hardcover, and get a free PDF copy. Why don’t more RPGs do this? It really makes buying the hardcover more attractive, and they’d probably sell a lot more books as a result!

Heck, it worked on me. Smart move, Mr. McConnell. Very smart indeed.

I don’t know if I’ll be spending a lot of time writing about Fate here, but I’ll say this right now; everything I’ve seen so far, I’ve liked, and Strands of Fate is well on its way to being the best, most flexible variant I’ve encountered. I definitely would love to run a game some time. . . and more importantly I’d like to play in one.

P.S. I’m experimenting with the header for the blog a bit to see if there’s something I like more than just the plain text I’ve been using. Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain.

Leave a Reply

