>What it’s all about:

>Dixon Trimline recently posted an editorial on Stuffer Shack that really spoke to me. You can read the whole thing here; what follows is a brief excerpt.

If I may speak for my group, you should know that we introverts wouldn’t mind being the friendly, chatty, genial life-of-the-partiers, but we just can’t. We lack that gene. And I had the added benefit of suspecting that maybe, just maybe, all those people didn’t really want to talk to me anyway. Finally, I had a found a forum where I could be better, different, clever, funny, charismatic, witty, and important. […] 

[…] Forever, I’ve been looking for the game that not only allowed me to be someone better than I am, but also afforded me the opportunity to develop relationships that were formed and forged in fire and blood. I’ve never wanted the center stage, because it’s way too lonely out there under all those lights. I want to be part of a unit, a unit where the individuals rely and depend on each other completely, where success requires everyone giving everything they have. My favorite memories from any of the games I’ve ever played were the back-to-back scenes, the we’re-in-this-together scenes, the lean-on-me-and-we’ll-get-out-of-here scenes.

That, right there, that’s what this hobby is all about. Thanks, Dixon, for summing it up so perfectly.

2 responses to “>What it’s all about:

  • Jillian Spencer

    >Heh, not bad reasons for playing–but there are other hobbies that do the same thing, you know. Like caving and camping, which develop complete trust between members of a group for survival in the elements. Wanna stretch this aspect of your game? Play it in a tent in the wilderness while there's a storm thrashing outside that you've all had to work hard to prepare for, digging trenches, putting up tarps, and water-proofing and fuel and food supply. It's thrilling, and it builds relationships that last a lifetime.

  • Jonathan

    >While I'm sure that WOULD be a thrilling experience, not everyone has that luxury. And considering that the majority of my friendships that I've kept have been the ones I played games with, and NOT the ones I shared tents with… Admittedly, Vi and I have done both, but we were game buddies first. And he's not the only one I still keep in touch with because of RPG comradery. Unless you'd also recommend watching movies with your friends in tents while storms thrash outside, I don't think that's necessarily a universal notion. 😉

Leave a Reply

