>Recommended Reading – DC Adventures Notes

>Wizard’s of the Coast has started their new series of blogs already; I’ve been paying loose attention, but this article about teaching children D&D was pretty interesting: click here.

I’m starting to think that my attempts to “teach” role-playing concepts have suffered partly because I put too much emphasis on the details that really don’t actually matter until you sit down at the table. So. We’ll see if I can adjust my paradigm a bit on that front for the new players in my audience (and to avoid boring those of you who already know the rules, anyway).

And, for those of you who may be playing in my DC Adventures game later … you may find this a useful resource. The DC Adventures Quick Start PDF contains all the basic rules necessary to play the game boiled down into a few pages, as well as a pair of sample characters and an adventure to mess around with. I’d recommend reading page 1, and skimming pages 2 and 3. Pages 4 and 5 are the sample characters, and the rest of it is the sample adventure – just take a look at the first few pages, it’ll explain a lot and give you a solid background. The rest will be easy to pick up when the game starts.

If you really couldn’t care less about reading through it ahead of time, just come to the game and you’ll figure everything you need to know out as you go.

The game isn’t yet scheduled, but the plan (as mentioned previously) is to play iconic DC Comic’s characters. If you’d like to find a few ideas, I recommend taking a look through the DC Comics Wikia – check out Wonder Woman, Power Girl, Zatanna, The Huntress, Batgirl, Supergirl, Black Canary, Hawkgirl, Big Barda – just a few of my favorites. (I’d list male heroes, too, but I only have one guy playing and he’s already declared his preference.) There are many, many, MANY others, but these are just the ones that pop into my head at first thought.

I’d apologize for the way women are drawn in comics, but honestly, considering what’s featured on television these days I don’t think comics need to apologize anymore (the only reason that they’ve ever had anything to apologize for is a mistaken assumption on the part of governments that comic books are “for kids.”) But that’s an issue for an editorial post, which this is not.

Leave a Reply

