>Upcoming Game Plans

>Gah. Well, clearly I’ve given myself far too long to think about what I’m going to be doing for my group of new gamers, because I’ve already started changing my mind again. Originally, the plan was to run 4th Edition D&D, but having been told that it “sounds like it requires a Master’s Degree” (no matter how I’ve tried to explain otherwise or defend it) I’m thinking to do something a little less intimidating – and easier for me to run. Less work for me, less work for the players, much better all around, yes? Yes.

To that end, I’ll be experimenting in the near future with three rules systems and see which appeals to me most strongly to use for the pickup game:

1) Risus, the rules-lite (and free) universal game system.
2) Icons, the rules-lite Superhero game I recently purchased.
3) DC Adventures/Mutants and Masterminds 3rd Edition, possibly using the big iconic characters of the DC Universe – including the ones in the back of the book. Any others, I may have to build myself. . . easy enough. Combat is significantly more streamlined than D&D (in my experience) so it shouldn’t be too hard for the players to pick up once we’re going.

M&M is the only one of the three I have actual experience running so far, but I’m reasonably confident about my ability to make it work. The others may be simpler for the players, though . . . we’ll see.

I’ll post again when I have more information about any of the above systems. The truth, though, is I’m kind of fantasy’ed out, and I need some supers gaming again – this looks like a good way to get my fix.

4 responses to “>Upcoming Game Plans

  • Tourq

    >Good luck! Let us know how it goes.I've played in and run hundreds and hundreds of hours of super's gaming back in the day, but now I don't know if I could do it again. That challenge intimidates me a bit, since it seems the group I am in now looks for a bit more substance in their games. Although, I think it would be fun to make an effort.

  • Jonathan

    >I should probably ask what you mean by, "substance," but I'd imagine you could run a super's game with plenty of it. Just go for a bit more modern comic feel and a little less Silver Age. ;)Mutants and Masterminds could probably work pretty well for you, I'd think; in my experience it has enough substance to satisfy a desire for crunch, and enough flex that it feels like you're playing in a comic-book or novel.Also, DC Adventures provides stats for Batman. It's hard to argue with any game that gives you stats for Batman. ;DI'll save the gushing about my favorite system for a later post, though – no sense boring you with it here.

  • Tourq

    >Waaaay back in the day, I played a lot of Super World (Chaosium rules). Then, I moved on to Heroes Unlimited. It was really cool because I fashioned a template for heroes to be drawn, making it easy for everyone to draw more and more heroes and villains. If you take a look at Tank In Trouble at Stuffer Shack, you'll see a couple of supers that have a similar build. They are all supers from those games long ago played.Anyway, when I say more substance, I mean that most of my old gaming involved a lot of hack and slash, with only meager stories. When 4E came out, that's when I really punched up my story driven games. However, now that I'm with a new group (and I'm not the GM), I would be intimidated to take it on because these guys that I play with are the real deal. Let's just say I got schooled when I joined their group, and I'm loving every minute of it. I just don't know if I could pull off a game for them, as they are definitely story-driven "Role" players. Maybe a two-shot, that would be cool (but please no more Heroes Unlimited).

  • Jonathan

    >Aaaahhh, I see. Sounds like a fun group. :DYeah, most of the D&D players I've had the ((dis?)pleasure? (mis?)fortune? Let's just say that this was the Pathfinder group I swore never to return to) of running with approach gaming with a similarly hack and slash, tactics heavy kind of approach, though admittedly some of them are really good about role-playing properly on the way. I'm sure they'd argue with me, but its how the games felt, and while they were fun enough it's not really what I'm looking for, either. Besides, the effort they put into it makes Pathfinder feel like having a 2nd job that doesn't pay all that well. One of the things that appealed to me about M&M is that it really IS kind of story driven in its bones; you can kind of tell that Steve Kenson was influenced in some small way by the Fate system (and a few others he's mentioned; Fudge, and so on) even if only loosely, but the game is still d20 and offers just enough system grit to keep the optimizers happy – mostly without letting them break the game, either. It's really an impressive achievement in many ways.

Leave a Reply

