>New Directions . . . Some Thoughts, and A Confession

>

The cover art for M&M 3e, found on
http://www.mutantsandmasterminds.com
Isn’t that awesome?
There are a few things that I’d really like to be able to do here on the blog. 
One of those things is to get back into Mutants and Masterminds. Green Ronin has recently released the PDF version of their 3rd Edition Handbook, and while I will probably not be purchasing it (though I’d consider the hard copy) on the grounds that I already have the DC Adventures PDF and it uses the same system, I am LOVING the artwork created for the new book, and it has me thinking again; I love, miss, and crave that kind of heroism, in my life and in my gaming. And it’s been too long since I wrote about my favorite game. So there may be a bit more of that on the site, including a proper intro to new M&M players – once I’ve finished the Basics of D&D. I don’t intend to abandon D&D 4th Edition entirely, but I’d like to move back toward more Super’s style gaming content as well, to satisfy that craving. I may run some articles about Icons, my recent purchase from Adamant Entertainment. 
And one other thing I’m toying with, though not entirely related to gaming specifically. . . I’ve been having some fun reading through Mark Read’s Harry Potter during some of my free time, and I’ve been playing with the idea in my head of doing something similar; read a book, blog about a chapter each day, and mock or exalt different portions as I see appropriate. But I need a good book I haven’t read, preferably. 
So, dangerous as it might be, I’m going to make an admission. 
I may be the last D&D player on the face of this planet who hasn’t read Lord of the Rings. 
I know, I’m pretty sure I have to do penance for that now. 
Sure, I’ve seen the films. I enjoyed them tremendously. But I’ve never read the books, and I’ve been meaning to for years – just never quite got around to it. So, that may start a new series here on Powergaming for Dummies: Jonathan Reads Lord of the Rings. Assuming, once I have time to start reading, that I can find a way to make my thoughts legitimately interesting, informative, and above all entertaining. 
I welcome any thoughts or suggestions as always, and would especially like to know if there’s any interest in any of the above – otherwise, I’ll just do what I always do; write for myself, first, and hope that it’s as interesting to all of you as it is to me. 
Thanks for reading!


P.S. I’ve always felt that one of the real benefits of being a nerd is that you’re allowed to like stuff. Or, as John Green would put it, “Because nerds like us are allowed to be unironically enthusiastic about stuff. We don’t have to be like, ‘Oh yeah that purse is okay’ or like, ‘Yeah, I like that band’s early stuff.’ Nerds are allowed to love stuff, like jump-up-and-down-in-the-chair-can’t-control-yourself-love it […] when people call people nerds, mostly what they are saying is, ‘You like stuff’, which is just not a good insult at all.” 


All this is a fancy way of saying, please don’t mind me if I demonstrate enthusiasm for my subject matter. I am, it must be said, a nerd; and what’s more, an unapologetic one. 
Leave a Reply

