>Fantasy M&M part 2: Building a character

>Alright, so we’ve picked a PL, and we have our list of optional rules. Hopefully you might also know a little bit about the world you’re playing in. For this game, all I’ve been told is “High fantasy in the vein of D&D 4e”, so I’m planning accordingly.

I decide that I’m going to build a Defender, on the grounds that the party could use someone distracting, and I like swords. So, let’s take a look at how we’d build a PL 6 Human Fighter using our standard 90 power points (PP). Let’s call him Jacob.

First things first, I take a look at the Fighter as it’s presented in D&D, because I’d like some inspiration. I really like the idea of the Fighter’s Challenge, but it takes a little mucking around to reproduce it in M&M. Finally, though, after consulting the list of Conditions, I find one that does what I need. A few houserules later, and I have my answer:

Defender’s Challenge: Once per round, as a free action, you can inflict any one opponent with a -2 circumstance penalty to attack rolls. This penalty only applies when he attacks a target other than you.

All for the low, low cost of just 1 power point, and constructed using just a tiny bit from 2e to bridge the gap. Nice. I get the approval of my GM, and add it to my list of advantages.

I take a look at my attributes, and come up with this:

Strength 3, Stamina 3, Agility 2, Dexterity 0, Intellect 0, Awareness 2, Presence 0, Fighting 4

At 2 points per rank, that makes 28 of our 90 points, added to the one from before, for 29. Our Fighter is strong, tough, and skilled, as well as being agile and perceptive. He’s average in all other respects, which is about my vision for this guy.

Skills being my next important stop, I put down 4 ranks each in Athletics, Stealth, and Expertise (Tactics), along with 6 ranks in Intimidation and Insight. That costs him a grand total of 12 additional points; 41 so far. This makes him scary, as well as sneaky and good at things like running and climbing.

I get to Advantages. In addition to the aforementioned custom Advantage (Defender’s Challenge), I put down Taunt, Power Attack, Defensive Attack, Takedown and Move-By Action, along with Improved Initiative. I’d write down “equipment”, but since this is Warriors and Warlocks style, equipment is free. 6 more points, so that makes 47.

Speaking of which, I put down a sword (+3 damage), Armor (+4 Toughness bonus), and a light shield (+1 to active defenses) under “Equipment” on his sheet. Classic “Knight” imagery comes to mind.

Now for the really fun part: powers! If I were looking to make him truly “4E” style, I’d be dividing his abilities into At-Will (Default), Encounter (Cheaper by 1/rank), and Daily (Cheaper by 2/rank) – however, I’m picturing this guy as being a little more old-school than that. I decide to use the “Array” structure for his powers, but divide them into “Stances”, that give him access to different tricks and skills. I decide to build the main stance on 15 points. I put down:

Defender’s Mastery: Jacob channels his combat skill to a greater heights, focusing on controlling the attention of a single warrior. 15 pp traits, Quirk: Requires Weapon -1, 14 pp
Advantages: Uncanny Dodge, Daze (Intimidation), Quick Draw, Improved Defense, Improved Disarm, Evasion. Powers: Combat Mastery : Adds Reaction extra to Strength Damage, Limited: (Only against subject of Defender’s Challenge, and only when they attack someone other than you or attempt to move away while you’re adjacent to them): 6 pp LINKED Affliction 6, (Dazed, Stunned), Limited: 2 degrees only; 3 pp

61 pp, and he’s going to be HARD to get away from. And the best part is, for most of that he doesn’t even have to move. I make a note that I should add at least once stance as an Array: this means that he can have a wide set of abilities, but he has to switch between them as a free action once per round. Even crazier? There’s still 28 points left for customization. More stances, more advantages added to the base power, more skills . . . there’s plenty of room to spend them.

Here’s the complete list of everything above again, so you can see it in one place:

Attributes: 28 pp
Strength 3, Stamina 3, Agility 2, Dexterity 0, Intellect 0, Awareness 2, Presence 0, Fighting 4
 Skills: 12 pp
Athletics 4, Stealth 4, Expertise (Tactics), Intimidation 6, Insight 6

Advantages: 7 pp
Defender’s Challenge: Once per round, as a free action, you can inflict any one opponent with a -2 circumstance penalty to attack rolls. This penalty only applies when he attacks a target other than you.
Taunt, Power Attack, Defensive Attack, Takedown and Move-By Action, Improved Initiative.

Equipment:
Sword (+3 damage), Armor (+4 Toughness bonus), and a light shield (+1 to active defenses)

Powers: 15 pp

Defender’s Mastery: Jacob channels his combat skill to a greater heights, focusing on controlling the attention of a single warrior. 15 pp traits, Quirk: Requires Weapon -1, 14 pp

Advantages: Uncanny Dodge, Daze (Intimidation), Quick Draw, Improved Defense, Improved Disarm, Evasion. Powers: Combat Mastery : Adds Reaction extra to Strength Damage, Limited: (Only against subject of Defender’s Challenge, and only when they attack someone other than you or attempt to move away while you’re adjacent to them): 6 pp LINKED Affliction 6, (Dazed, Stunned), Limited: 2 degrees only; 3 pp

Alternate Stance: [Construct additional stances] 1 pp

62 pp; 28 points left for customization. 

Leave a Reply

